Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thelonerider1

preparation for grafting evergreens

thelonerider1
9 years ago

This is my first attempt to graft.
I got some cuttings from today.

Weeping Serbian spruce, weeping white pine, weeping blue spruce and blue needled white pine.

How should I store for winter?
in refrigerator or frozen outside?
cut to size and remove needles now or later ?
what size caliper is preferred for grafting?
one single small branch scion or a double or trippler+
branch scion ?

Advice/ links appreciated.
thanks

Comments (4)

• gardener365
    9 years ago

refrigerate your scions in ziplocks or bags tied in a knot with a piece of paper towel you squeezed every last bit of water possible from the size of a marble.

You have about 6 weeks before the scionwood begins to lose its freshness. Grafting as quickly as possible is the best route.

Your seedlings you're grafting onto should be warmed up for a few days if they are outdoors prior to grafting on them.

After the seedlings have been inside for a few days, remove the scions from the fridge and allow them to warm up for about 45 minutes to an hour and then do your grafting work.

Then the grafted plants will need to be covered completely with a lightweight piece of poly draping over them and facing as much sunlight as you're able to give them, or, you can purchase lightweight baggies and individually bag each graft. If you individually bag each graft, all you have to do is bag the scion and not the entire seedling. A twist tie above and below the scion to hold the bag over the scion is how to do this. If large water droplets occur inside the bags (or) on poly draped over grafted seedlings, open the bags to dry the water droplets or in the case of the piece of poly, wipe all the large water droplets off and then cover the grafts back up.