Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ltruett

Planting trees with tree spade

ltruett
14 years ago

A tree company is currently planting trees in the neighborhood and I wanted to see if anyone had any comments about their methods. I have no experience planting large trees dug with a tree spade but it just doesn't look right to me. They will eventually come through and dump a bunch of dirt on top to even it out.

{{gwi:490561}}

{{gwi:490562}}

{{gwi:490564}}

Comments (19)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    14 years ago

if the soil is hard clay .... it would NOT be uncommon to plant it a bit high ... with proper follow up ...

it would NOT.. IMHO.. be proper to leave them as is ...

ken

PS: as to why they put that tree.. in what seems the middle of no where ... is beyond me...

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago

That's how it's done, planting proud. But they should be coming back with a little fill dirt and water, even tho it is dormant season.

Dan

• Embothrium
    14 years ago

Planting in a spade-dug hole without loosening the soil around the hole puts the cut root ends against the compressed, slickened sides of the hole. New roots coming out of cut root ends need loosened, aerated soil to grow readily. If they were using a backhoe to dig the planting holes, as they should be the trees would also not end up sitting up up on a perch.

Nothing proud about it.

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

I agree. The job was done the "cheap/easy" way rather than the best way. It's normal for the rootballs planted this way to be left a little high (to compensate for settlement), but some of the pictures above appear to have rootballs left significantly high.

14 years ago