Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bike2work

I messed up, please help!

bike2work
9 years ago

Hi,

I am a complete novice with garden.

I bought a fruit tree that I really wanted (Chinese hawthorn) early this year(2014) and planted it. Now it is first winter, I am thinking maybe I need to do some pruning. After I searched the net I found out I completely did the planting wrong.

All the information says the newly bought tree should be cut down to very short at planting but I just put the tree in a hole.

Now what should I do for this winter? Can I still cut it down as if this is a first year tree?

Thanks in advance,
Bike

Comments (13)

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

I'm not sure what source would tell you to cut a fruit tree down when you plant is. If you cut down a tree very short you'll end up with a multi-trunked tree or bush. Maybe you found info on soft fruit e.g. raspberries? Or for planting a hawthorn hedge? Perhaps you can link us to the advice you found? A quick Google didn't turn up any such info for me.

• bike2work
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi floral_uk,

Here is an article by UC Davis : http://homeorchard.ucdavis.edu/8057.pdf
    They explained it very well on the top of page 2 (figure 1).

There is a youtube video talking about the same thing:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQemD2PMIbI

Thanks,
    Bike

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

i think you need to get to the fruit forum ...

we tree peeps do thing very differently ... and topping a tree is high on the list of NO NOs ....

fruit production pruning methods are extremely different ... as you can see at any orchard ...

i didnt know H was used for fruit.. go figure ...

ken

• bike2work
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks Ken. I will move to the fruit forum. I am new, not sure which is the best place.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago