Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tlbean2004

Will this damage kill my new tree!! please help!

tlbean2004
9 years ago

I just planted this purple leaf plum on friday and it already has rodent damage.

Something scraped some of the bark off the tree.
Will this kill the tree? please advise....

Comments (13)

• jean001a
    9 years ago

same question elsewhere with one response (see the link)

Here is a link that might be useful: same question elsewhere

• ilovemytrees
    9 years ago

I'm not a tree expert, so I can't answer the question if the damage is terminal, but I wanted to tell you that you need to wrap that tree immediately with tree wrap, and then wrap some hardware cloth around it. If you don't, the voles (or rabbits) will surely kill that tree. They're hungry, and they will come back for more.

Ask me how I know. Actually don't, just thinking about all the damage we've suffered from rodents pisses me off and puts me in a bad mood. lol

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

doubt it ....

buy one of those spiral plastic thingees... and put it on each of your new trees .. see link ... should be more than a buck or two ...

i am more concerned about it not being set solid.. in mother earth ... why is it already moving ...???

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

• tlbean2004
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I have clay soil and when i planted the tree i made the clay wet. So where it moved is where the soil dried. and i am staking it because it is slightly curved. When it starts growing in the spring, i want it to grow more straight.

• grubby_AZ Tucson Z9
    9 years ago

What Ken said!

Seriously, there are only two problems to deal with.