Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnds_gw

Irrigation Schedule for Peppers on Roof

JohnDS
12 years ago

Hello, I have a new t-tape row crop kit I bought from dripworks and I am setting up hot and sweet peppers in 4-6 gallon containers on my roof for summer weather that could hit 80 to 95F daily. They will be in full sun on an asphalt roof on a timer.

Can some experienced gardener suggest what would be a good schedule to have an autotimer run the irrigation on these peppers, at least so that they don't get cooked immediately? Also, what time of day would you run it?

I am thinking about an hour each day at around 11 am, but I have no experience with this. For my tomato plants at ground level I am planning about 4 hours every 3-4 days depending on how hot it is. I might try them on the roof too. Would they require more water than the peppers?

Thanks for any help,

John

Comments (7)

• lehua49
    12 years ago

John,

What flow rate and spacing of the T-tape; IE, GPM per foot at 18" spacing or GPH per foot @ a2 foot spacing? If you don't have this, let me know the brand and number of tape? What is the spacing of your pots? Aloha

• JohnDS
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Emitter spacing is 8" for 15 Mil t-tape that flows 40 GPH per 100 feet @8 psi.

I expect to have about 6 psi pressure and possibly 2 rows off the header with plants spaced about every 12 to 16 inches for about 20-30 feet rows.

Thanks for the help, I have heard about container vegetables burning up in hot weather and I wanted to use the auto timed irrigation to help them be productive as well as survive. I will probably set up some kind of heat shield for the container (boards wrapped with foil) to divert heat from the pots.

John

• lehua49
    12 years ago

John,