Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joannaqcw

Drip irrigation-- fittings, flow rate,durability, maintenance Qs

joannaqcw
16 years ago

Drip irrigation design questions:durability of fittings? high or low flow?blowing out? flushing and cleaning?hold-downs?

I want to experiment with drip irrigation in my intensively planted vegetable beds (in sandy soil into which Ive been working compost for the past 7 years). IÂm thinking of using 15 mil T-tape with 8" emitter spacing, lines spaced 12-16" apart, run off 1/2" plastic mainline tubing, and covering it with an inch or two of mulch or compost. I have a few questions and would greatly appreciate answers to any of them:

Which fittings/connections are most durable? IÂve been looking at the Dripworks USA site, which offers Easy-Loc (twist-on reusable plastic) and compression (non-reusable plastic) fittings. I have looked at some other sites and not seen metal tees, elbows, connectors etc, so I guess plastic is standard. I want to have a shutoff for each bed, and the standard design suggestion seems to be plastic valves (compression or easy-loc valves in the submain line) though I could get a metal shutoff. How long do plastic valves last? IÂd appreciate hearing from people who have been running drip for a few years. If people have had bad experiences with Dripworks fittings, or would especially recommend another supplier, that would also interest me.

The company site seems to indicate that I probably should use high-flow (.67 GPM/100 ft. at 8 PSI) t-tape since the soil is still fairly sandy and light, so as to wet a wide enough area of soil. The company also offers low-flow at .34 GPM/100 ft at 8 PSI. Do other sandy-soil gardeners have recommendations about low or high flow emitters?

Is a quick-connect necessary to enable blowing out the system before a freeze, or can that be done without one?