Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dick_gardener

Leak in Sprinkler System?

dick_gardener
17 years ago

I am a real novice at understanding irrigation systems, but here goes. I suddenly have a very wet spot in my lawn, that has not dried now for about five days. I suspect it may be a leak in my sprinkler system, but when I turn on that particular zone the heads work fine. Am I wrong in assuming that if there were a leak they would not function normally?

Likewise, assuming I have a slow leak in my irrigation system, how do I shut off the water to it, without shutting off the water to the house?

I believe the system is Richel, or somthing along that line...it was installed about ten years ago.

Comments (2)

• tennfescue
    17 years ago

I had the same problem a few days ago and it was because my zone valve had not totally sealed after the last watering. Try activating that zone and shutting it off again. You should be able hear if any water is seeping through that valve (kind of a whisping sound). If it still leaks you may need to clean the zone valve for dirt or other crap that can get in there. this is not a leak in the actual zone itself, if it was you would only notice leaking when that zone is activated cause that is the only time it is charged with water.

In regards to your other question you should not have to turn the house water off as the sprinkler system should have its own main shutoff valve seperate from the house shutoff.

• ronalawn82
    17 years ago