Return to the Irrigation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Replacing Anti-Siphon Valve

Posted by jeff7602 CA (My Page) on
Mon, May 21, 07 at 1:10

Hey, total newb here!
I moved into a house with an old irrigation system. It only has three zones, and only two that I plan on using now. I replaced all of the heads and the system seems to run well. However the valves that are on are very old and leak. The ones that are on there are lawn genie valves. I bought a couple of rain bird apas-075 valves to replace them. When I took the first one out of the box I noticed that the inlet and outlet holes on the two valves are different distances apart. The lawn genie ones are 4 1/8" apart and the rain bird ones are 3" apart. Is there a different valve that I should have gotten that would be the same or will I have to adjust the pipes coming out of the ground somehow.

Also, how do I take the old valves off? The inlet pipe is metal and the outlet pipe is pvc. What do I need to do?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Replacing Anti-Siphon Valve

There is an anti-syphon valve on which the inlet and outlet ports are configured in a U shape. Such a valve is normally required where ever the sprinkler system is connected to the water supply, even it is your private well. The anti-syphon valve is installed about 12" above the sprinkler piping system. A control valve usually has the inlet and outlet ports in a straight line. The easiest way to deal with these valves is to buy the exact replacement and swap out the internal components. If the valve body is leaking, try snugging down the screws evenly. If it is allowing water to pass through when it is closed, then it may need cleaning out only. Disassemble a valve carefully and observe how it has been put together. There is a spring, diaphragm, needle and a disc in there. Usually the diaphragm may need replacement and it is oriented only in a particular way.

o