Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fossilnut

Drip Irrigation - Need help & suggestions!!!

fossilnut
15 years ago

I'm thinking of setting up a drip irrigation system and need some help. I plan to use the system to water ornamental plants as well as hanging and potted plants. I'm wondering if I'll run into any problems with my hillside garden (Its on a pretty steep slope heading from the house to the lake with a change in elevation of I'd guess maybe 10-12 feet). The hanging plants are up maybe 6' off the ground. My water is from a well and it had a lot of red (iron?) stuff that settles out in the toilet and I'm afraid that it might tend to clog up a drip system.

I've never used a drip system before but it has always intrigued me. Will I run into problems with my garden?

Also, appreciate suggestions as to brands. Especially which ones are easier to clean out as I suspect that might be an issue with my well water. I see everthing from Harbor Freight cheapies to more expensive systems and was hoping to get some suggestions on a good system that won't cost an arm and a leg. I tend to be on the cheap side of frugal but I don't want to get something that will give me a headache or constant trouble.

Also appreciate any suggestions on websites where I can get all my questions answered that I haven't even thought about yet.

Thanks!

Sandy

Comments (3)

• rhythmtim
    15 years ago

You are well to worry about clogs from the well water. The first component in your system should be a fine mesh filter. Get a "y"-shaped one with a small valve on the end that you can periodically open to flush out the debris.

Slopes are problematic for drip systems. You'll want to use pressure-compensating emitters. This means that the emitters on the bottom of the slope will control the amount of water they release, even though the water pressure in the system is greater at the lower level. This allows the pressure to build and send the water to the higherplants.