Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sherwood_botsford

Water timer with delay.

I've got a bunch of trees that I water with oscillating sprinklers. At present I use mechanical hose bib timers so that the water shuts off.

When I'm gone for the day, I'd like to start another watering cycle later.

Does anyone make a timer with an easy to use MANUAL delay setting. I don't want to reprogram each time. I want to walk up to the timer, set one dial that governs how LONG it will water, and a second dial that governs how long it waits to start?

Comments (12)

• mike1059
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

For hose bib timers, I think melnor may have the closest thing to a delay timer. One that I know of has a delay before the first start than regular start intervals from 2hrs. to 48hrs. It's battery operated and is good if you want to water on a regular schedule.

• Sherwood Botsford (z3, Alberta)
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I'm a good plumber -- I'm quite willing to install into the lines. Between drip lines and main feeder lines, I've got about 10,000 feet of pipe out there.

More background: I've got a startup tree farm (Google my name and 'tree farm' and you will find my web site. Entertaining read.) I grow almost entirely in containers, and sell mostly to reclamation contractors and acreage owners. (OMG, I've got 3 acres of grass.) My niche is trees big enough to miss with a mower, and small enough to plant with a shovel.

I use a combination of fixed overhead sprinklers, (Antelco spinners) oscillating sprinklers (Aquazoom) and drip irrigation. At present I've got 6 hose bibs spread through the pot yard, but only enough water pressure to run two at any one time. A drip zone is set up with a quick connect hose connector, so, unconnect from a sprinkler, connect to a drip zone, twist the timer.