Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whittiergrower

Sprinkler Planning (Experts Needed)!

whittiergrower
15 years ago

I am looking to seed Bermuda grass in my yard. I have about 15,000 sq feet to seed. My yard has about 10 mature orange trees and about 10 new fruit trees. I am already experiencing foot rot on some of my orange trees due to over watering. I am in the process of correcting this.

The grass will be planted in the yard around the trees. How to I effectively water my yard?

I was looking at the Toro multi stream sprinklers they give me a 30 foot radius. However since the foot rot I donÂt want the water to go on to the oranges.

Gees HELP!

Thanks

Comments (6)

• tennfescue
    15 years ago

First off I am not an expert. But your grass will need about 1" of water a week as a general rule. I do not think this will compund the rot on your trees as much as you think. But you can always designs your sprinkler head layout to not spray on your trees. You can also adjust the sprinklers (oscilating type) when they are in the ground. They come with with low flow nozzles (included with the head) to prevent the heads around the trees from putting out so much water. Just my 2 cents.

• lehua49
    15 years ago

Hi Whittiergrower,