Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monicakm1

Watering Times and Amts for My Area

monicakm_gw
14 years ago

This is my first year as a proud owner of an automatic sprinkler system. Lot more work than I thought it would be :)

I'm in North East Texas (60 miles east of Dallas). Grass is Bermuda and St Augustine. It's mowed once a week. We had lots of rain this spring but now things have gotten back to normal...hot and dry. I've set the system for 2 waterings per week for 30 minutes at each station. Our water pressure is 75-80psi. I start at 4am (have 6 stations). Am I on the right track? Close? Way off? Do you need more information?

Monica

Comments (3)

• lehua49
    14 years ago

Hi again Monica,

Bermuda is tolerant of some drought but St. Augustine grass needs more water and is a faster grower, more frequent mowings and is good for crowding out weeds. But of course, the more water the better the grass does up to a point. The general rule is one inch of water a week for lawns. Hotter climates need more and cooler climates need less. The following is a good method to find the time your system needs to run to supply that amount or any amount for that matter: