Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
obstacle_gw

Good quote??

obstacle
17 years ago

I received a quote from an independent who works for the builder's landscape contractor but who has been installing irrigation systems on weekends around the neighborhood on the side. I understand that the neighbors are happy.

The price is $2400 for 5 zones, one of which will be for the shrub beds in the front.

I estimate that they will be covering approx. 18,000 sq. ft. in area with the other 4 zones. My yard is nearly twice the size of other yards and they are getting 4 zone systems for $1300-1500.

Does this price make sense and are the zones sufficient to cover this approximate sq. footage?

Comments (3)

• steve_lt160
    17 years ago

Since no one has posted any comments yet I thought I would say a few words. Before I start I am no expert and just recently got my first system installed. It has 6 zones with 37 Hunter rotar heads covering around 22,000 sq. ft. It cost around $4800. In my area that was a bargin. The other estimate I got was around $8400 with 8 zones. A neighbor down the street payed around $10,000 they have more zones than mine...10 I think. Personally I feel they got ripped off I think. The other quote they got was around $16,000 so they feel like they got a good deal. I never told them what I payed.

You could possibly get a lower price by paying cash. There are alot of factors to consider with the quote you received.

1- What name brand equipment is being installed.
    2- How many heads will be installed.
    3- How many feet and what type of pipe is being used.
    4- Trenched or plowing.
    5- Time frame involved to complete the job.