Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newirrigationco

First timer installing a residential irrigation system

NewIrrigationCO
9 years ago

Hey all,
New here. Thanks in advance for any and all help.
I will be installing a sprinkler system in my front and back yards in Colorado.
This is my first time, so all my planning so far is based off of what I've read online and what I've seen in stores. Please feel free to offer advice.

Tapping in to house mainline: Due to the way my basement is finished, I am planning to tap into the main line (which is 7/8" copper) in the unfinished portion of my basement, near where the rear spigot exits the house. I don't think my GPM demand for any of the individual zones will be more than 6-8. Is it OK to tie in inside the house, or should I tie into the main line before it gets to the house (as far as I can tell, this would involve digging down 6-8 feet in the front yard to get to the line).

Still not sure which tubing I will be using. Any thoughts? I was tempted to use the flexible PVC with push lock fittings that Home Depot has.

I want to design it to blow it out each year, and was just going to put a sillcock (to attach an air fitting) just below the vacuum breaker and a valve inside the house to drain the last little bit of water. Is that an OK way to do that?

I was planning to run 3 zones (with 2 additional pipe runs, one front yard and one back yard just in case I ever decide to irrigate a garden bed or something). One zone for the front yard (25' by 24' rectangle) with 4 Rain Bird 3504 heads (thoughts on head choice?).
The backyard is kind of odd shaped and I am not yet sure how to lay out the heads. Overall dimensions of back yard are 42' X 25.5'. The image below has 5 heads labeled 1-5, with an additional 3 heads labeled A, B, C to attempt to provide more complete coverage, but trying to avoid over-watering spots. The numbers inside the arcs show how many heads hit that area.