Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
madtownwriter

How Many Gallons?

madtownwriter
11 years ago

Hi, I'm new to owning a home after a whole life in apartments, and I've got a lawn watering question. I live in Zone 9 in California, and my first water bill arrived. It says that I used 16,400 gallons of water in July, which seemed incredibly high, but, having never owned a house, I had no way to see if this might be close to being correct. I went in to city hall, and the woman at reception kindly printed out my daily usage graph for me. Most of the month, I hardly used any water at all (I live alone), but on lawn watering days, I was using right around 850 gallons on the lawn each time.

I'm on a Hunter X-Core controller that's set to water four times a week. Here's the breakdown:

Zone A: 16 sprinkler heads that run for 12 minutes on the main part of the lawn

Zone B: 15 sprinkler heads that run for 12 minutes on the part of the lawn on the side of the sidewalk closest to the street and on a strip of grass on the other side of my driveway

Zone C: 21 drip lines that run for 17 minutes and are used to water the shrubs

The X-Core was programmed by who-knows-who (I'm assuming it was whomever put in the irrigation stuff), and I left it alone when I moved in. The last time that it watered the lawn, I stayed out there throughout the whole cycle, and I just can't see how I could be using 850 gallons in those 41 total minutes. There's no run-off except for a little bit that sprays out of the sprinklers closest to the street.