Return to the Irrigation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Back yard zones working; front yard zones suddenly stopped

Posted by ElGrecus (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 27, 13 at 21:34

We have a system with about nine zones all on the same controller. The five in the back yard are working fine as scheduled. The four in the front yard have suddenly stopped working.

I can manually turn the valves on the back five zones and they start irrigating. However, if I manually turn the zones on the front yard, nothing happens. I have no idea what to look for to troubleshoot the situation as I am an irrigation novice. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Back yard zones working; front yard zones suddenly stopped

EI,
I imagine you live in a warmer climate, since you can still run your system in December. When you manually turn your zones on, is it from the controller? Have you tried turning them on manually directly from the automatic valves? Aloha

o

Hello Lehua13,

We live in Los Angeles, so yes, we run the sprinklers all year. I have tried turning them on manually from the valves. I hear a subtle hissing sound, barely audible, but no water.

It may be completely unrelated, but recently the ice maker in our fridge stopped working. It is located not too far from the valves. Could it be that something has clogged the water line that serves that area? Sounds crazy but the thought did occur to me. I've never seen a water supply line get clogged, only a sewer line. The house was built in 2004 and although we have a lot of minerals in the water here, I don't know if there would be enough buildup to clog the line.

o

El,