Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bud_wi

Waaaa. I killed everything with the frost.

bud_wi
17 years ago

I just want to vent. I am new to winter sowing and live in WI.

I started this year, for the first time, peppers and peas indoors in plastic containers. They were doing great and were an inch high. Some were even two inches high.

Then white fuzzy mold started.

I read here that putting the containers outside will kill the white fuzzy mold.

It was mild outside. Cool, but mild. Snow was melting. Puddles of water were on the sidewalks.

I set all the containers on my porch and left to run an errand.

When I came out of the store, the sun had gone down and all the sidewalks were iced up. I panicked and hurried home.

I retrieved all my plants from the porch. They looked OK.

But then they defrosted.

They are all dead except for seven or eight of the largest of the little plants.

All that work for nothing.............

:( :( :(

I am going to start over, but I am so despondent over this I don't even feel like starting everything again right now.

I just wanted to vent.

Has this happened to anyone else?

Comments (7)

• lblack61
    17 years ago

I'm doing bell peppers indoors and it's happened to me just this week. I put a fan next to them and turn it on once or twice a day. I picked off what I could of the white fuzzy stuff (it was just starting, so it wasn't too bad) and dabbed a little Hydrogen Peroxide on the surface, undiluted. I'm hoping this solves the problem. If not, I have more seeds.
    I really don't like indoor sowing, but I think I will get better at it as I go along. But I'm glad most of my desireables can be WSed.
    So what do you plan to do? Start more? What do you think caused the problem? I think my problem was too not enough circulation.
    Linda

• lblack61
    17 years ago