Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardencrazy_gw

Anyone can their veggies?

gardencrazy
15 years ago

Does anyone can their w/s veggies? I started learning to can last year because I had so many veg. and couldnt stand to see all of my hard work go to waste. I have very fond memories of helping my grandmother can when I was a child. but I have searched the internet over and over looking for a recipe for the pickles she used to make. She called them salt brine pickles but I am pretty sure she did not do the brine recipes that I am finding. You know put them in a crock and let sit for so many days and ferment. I can not remember any of that stuff. I believe she put them straight into the jars and added water and salt but I can not be sure. does anyone know??? I found some at a local festival last fall and they said "Old Fashioned Salt Pickles" and they were soooo good. If anyone knows anything about this I would love to hear it.

Comments (15)

• tosser

Ok, this recipe is from The Farm Journal Freezing and Canning Cookbook, ©1963. I'll post the recipe as written and underneath will add how I change it.

Sweet Dills Makes 9 pints

4 1/2 qts. dill-size cucumbers
    2 large onions
    18 heads dill
    6 c. vinegar
    6 c. sugar
    3/4 c. salt
    1 1/2 t. celery seeds
    1 1/2 t. mustard seeds

• Slice cukes & onions

• Put 1 head dill and 2 slices onion into each hot, sterilized jar. Fill jars with cucumber slices; shake jar to pack.

• To make syrup, combine vinegar, sugar, salt, celery seeds and mustard seeds; heat to boiling. Pour over cucumber slices.

• Add 1 head dill and 1 slice onion at top of jar; seal at once.

• What I use:

• Any cukes will work, they don't have to be picklers. If the skins are particularly tough, peel'em.

• 3 large hot white onions - 27 slices.

• 1 generous teaspoon of dill seed to each jar, put in directly after the cukes..

• White vinegar

• Granulated white sugar

• Regular table salt, although I cut the amount to 1/2 cup.