Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nancy_drew_gw

One Person's Treasure Is Another Person's Potty!

nancy_drew
14 years ago

One person's planter is another one's potty

Lakemoor woman's use of toilet for landscaping has neighbors, village up in arms

One person's garbage can be another's treasure, but can a commode be an "artsy planter"?

Tina Asmus said the village of Lakemoor and some neighbors on Highland Drive are pushing her to remove the front yard "art piece planters" she created using a couple of old toilets and a pedestal sink.

"I'm very creative, artsy and crafty in this regard and I like to find old things that I can recycle and repurpose," she said. "I saw a friend who made a planter out of an old toilet once and I loved it, so last year, I made one for myself."

However, Mayor Todd Weihoffen said he stands behind police who have given Asmus 30 days to remove the toilets from her front yard.

Weihoffen, a plumber by trade, said all he sees on the front lawn of Asmus' home are a couple of "old plumbing fixtures" that should be removed.

"I was elected mayor because voters want the town cleaned up," he said. "If I do not enforce the ordinances about this, then anyone with some junk in their yard can stick a flower on it and call it art."

A quick Internet search will show making a planter out of a toilet isn't a new idea. However, that carries no weight with village officials who say Asmus faces a fine of $25 to $500 starting June 15 if she doesn't comply.

Asmus said she will not remove her "art pieces," adding each toilet planter costs about $100 to make and holds an assortment of daisies, angel's breath, lilies and other flowers.

"My yard is neat and clean and this definitely catches the eye of some people and makes them smile," she said. "It's different. I like different."

The toilet planters have smiley faces on them, and one bears the words "I love my neighbors".