Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
irisheyes66_gw

'The Change' interfering with WS/gardening *sigh*

irisheyes66
13 years ago

I apologize if this is too personal a topic for this forum...but I was hoping to get some feedback from any of you ladies who may be/have been in the same situation. I know I'm not exactly the most active member on GW, but I lurk here several times a day and feel there is so much wisdom in this group of gals.

I am a relative newbie to WS...but I have the fever, bad-bad-bad :-) I never thought I could find a pursuit (gardening in general, but especially WS) that fills me with such joy and peace. I've had a few rough years health-wise, so this has definitely been a welcome respite. I started menopause 2 years ago (I am 43), and it's been a bumpy ride for sure!

I thought the worst of it was behind me...the symptoms had become manageable, for the most part...but lately they have re-appeared, worse than ever (I've researched hormone replacement therapy, but due to other health issues, that is not an option for me). I look outside at my WS babies, languishing in their jugs, and I feel such a lack of interest and motivation *sigh* Of course, "the change" (lol, that's what my Grandma used to call it) affects other areas of my life...but not being able to enjoy WS as I used to is really getting me down. To make matters worse, my (21 y.o.) daughter and I are in the midst of a horrible falling out, so that is clouding my vision at the moment.

So...how do those of you "of a certain age" (arrrgh, when my doctor said that to me I wanted to slap him!) cope with the loss of energy and enthusiasm for hobbies and activities you love? I am fighting the "blahs" with all my might--I even caved and started taking an anti-anxiety med--but fear I may be losing the battle.

One thing I will say...reading the posts here always makes me feel better *smile*

Thanks for listening,

Susan in Kansas

Comments (8)

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    13 years ago