Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vera_eastern_wa

What are your other hobbies/addictions??

vera_eastern_wa
17 years ago

Well besides gardening my other "addiction" is Genealogy. I've been doing family research since 1996. Not only do I research my own, but I enjoy volunteering to help others in their research. Winter is coming up and I will be re-subscribing to my databases (Newspapers, census, ect.) to get back into the "look-up" requests. So, if you ever need some advise or help I will give my all to assisst you :D

So what do you do?

Vera

Comments (19)

• laurelin
    17 years ago

Vera,

My main hobby is gardening (my favorites are daylilies, irises, peonies, and lilacs, but I grow scads of other things too). But I also enjoy studying history (especially medieval history, and the history of gardening), painting (landscapes in acrylics, and Christmas ornaments), and playing Scrabble. This winter I'm going to take a continuing ed course at a local college, probably for pottery or painting.

I also have invested a lot of time in genealogy (drawn into it by my mother's research, which has snowballed into a full-scale book project for my family), but I wouldn't call it a hobby or an addiction - I just enjoy doing it to learn about my family and help my mother and sisters out with this project.

Laurel

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    17 years ago

I really like to mosaic. I started a few years ago by collecting dishes and tiles of nice colours and then realizing I had no use for them and needed one. And then I found something personally satisfying about breaking a plate with 14 karat gold on it and gluing it to something... :) My brother saw me using a hammer on china one day and the next week he showed up with his ex-wife's dishes which she had given to him. Ah, the joy!!

Seriously, though, it's a great hobby which I may turn into a money maker someday.

• mamimo
    17 years ago