Return to the Winter Sowing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
OT Question, About cameras

Posted by jspeachyn5 6 (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 8, 08 at 21:03

Hello all.
I have a question.
I'm planning on purchasing a new camera.
I was wondering what you use to take all of the wonderful pictures.
I am leaning toward at least 10 pix and 5 or more zoom.
Any comments would greatly be appreciated.
In this department I am way over my head.
But I know I will more than likely never buy another one after this purchase. So would like to get one that takes very clear pictures and close ups as well.
I know this factors in as well. I like to have some of my pictures blown up into frame able size for my home.
Thank you. I hope I posted this in the right spot.
Bonnie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: OT Question, About cameras

Bonnie,
I am not the most knowledgable person about cameras but I work in a store that sells them so I know a few things. A 10 megapixel camera will give you lots of flexiblilty for enlargements and photo editing. For instance, you'll be able to crop out a portion of a picture and enlarge it and still have really good picture quality. Make sure the zoom is "optical" zoom and not "digital" zoom, most cameras now will be. Optical zoom gives you the best picture quality. I like cameras that have a viewfinder. If you do not have a viewfinder and have to depend on the screen only you may find you have glare issues outdoors and it may be hard to see the image you are actually capturing.
Consider what kind of batteries it uses. You will find a lot of differences. If it is rechargable, check how it charges. I bought one for my daughter thinking the box included an AC charger and found out it charged through the computer with a USB cable. I ended up buying the AC charger separately. I use a camera that takes AA batteries and that is what I personally prefer.