Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blrhudugi

WANTED: seedlings exchange / swap

blrhudugi
10 years ago

Hello,

this is my first year gardening. So I plan on trying both winter sowing and regular indoor sowing. In fact, I just put out 35 or so containers outside and am hoping they will all sprout.

Question is - is there a forum where we can swap / request seedlings (if people have extras) come spring time. Maybe I am looking too far ahead, but just wanted to know if there was such a thing. Also, what are the logistics for such a swap (meaning, I know how to send seeds - thanks to the other exchange/trading forums on this site; but how does one package a plant and what is the mode of shipping). Or should I find other members who are more local and try to do a face to face exchange.

thank you very much.

Comments (9)

• beth_b_kodiak
    10 years ago

I was wondering the same thing. I "HOPE" to have a surplus of seedlings and like the idea of swapping rather then just cramming them in somewhere OR leaving them in the germination container until fall (Or until they croak)
    For many I think using the HunK o Seedling method would work for shipping. Just wrap the roots and moist soil like the roots of a plant. Then wrap in paper towel/ newspaper like any small plant.
    Any other ideas/suggestions?
    bethb

• beth_b_kodiak
    10 years ago

Tina, thanks for the good info.
    Hopefully birhudugi is still around and interested in this. As we get closer to the right time and know what surplus is available, I'm very interested in swapping some surplus seedlings.

• vegpatch
    10 years ago

Count me in as well I am already thinking about who might 'adopt' some seedlings.

• val (MA z6)
    9 years ago

This is an old posting, but 2015 is the first year of WSing for me...so did you all have successful WSing last year, and did you have alot of seedlings you wanted to trade? Were you successful in posting trades or ??