Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katy_bug_gw

Looks like a warm winter

KH 888
11 years ago

I just watched the weather and jeez, 70s for the next several days. I was hoping for a somewhat normal wintersowing season.

Comments (24)

• growsy
    11 years ago

Have you wintersown here before? How did it work for you? This is my first time. We live near Savannah. I've put out 13 containers so far. I'm really curious how it works in this warm weather. I envy those people with pics of a little snow covering their containers.

• terrene
    11 years ago

Katy bug, with temps in the 70s, you will probably start getting lots of sprouts in your containers.

Growsy, we don't have much snow this winter so far, but 2 winters ago there was 3 feet covering my containers. Ugh! That was way too much of a good thing!

• KH 888
    Original Author
    11 years ago

@growsy, this is my second year wintersowing. I put out 50 containers last year and things went really well even though it was such a weird winter. I did have early sprouts that needed protection with a late frost. I also didn't grow anything that needed cold stratification. This year I am trying a few varieties that do need cold and they are staying in my extra fridge for a month before I put them out.

@terrene, I don't envy your snow one bit!

This post was edited by katy_bug on Sat, Jan 12, 13 at 10:19

• ptp813
    11 years ago

Katy bug you mentioned putting them in your extra fridge. Are you putting the whole container made up with soil & seeds in the fridge or just the seeds themselves first? I'm in TN zone 7 also. I didn't sow much last year since the weather was so weird and I wasn't sure what would happen. I guess you don't find out if you don't try. :-)

• KH 888
    Original Author
    11 years ago