Return to the Winter Sowing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can someone describe what to do when seedlings emerge?

Posted by connietn 7 MidTN (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 16, 10 at 8:12

I was wondering if someone could give me an idea of what you do when the seedlings start to emerge. This is the part of winter sowing that I feel like I have the least understanding of and need reassurance about! :)

For example, do you cut gradually bigger slits in your plastic to "harden off?" How often do you usually have to water? How long is it usually after they come up before you transplant them to the garden? Do the seedlings generally require a lot of babying after they go in the ground?

I am not only new to winter sowing, I am also new to growing from seed. Last year was the first year I've attempted anything other than morning glories from seed. I did some zinnias because I'd heard they were very easy too.

Anything you can share about the final stages of wintersowing would be very interesting to me! Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can someone describe what to do when seedlings emerge?

When you get your first wintersown sprouts do like so many of us do THE HAPPY SPROUT DANCE. After that check all your other jugs, then log on to GW and tell us all about it. After that it depends on the weather. I added more ventilation holes mid spring, the when it got above 60 I'd take the tops off to let the seedlings breathe and to keep them from frying, and also checked every couple of days to make sure the jugs were still heavy (had enough water). Other than that they pretty much took care of themselves.

MARY

o

Connie,