Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bellarosa009

Trying to decide what to wintersow

bellarosa
9 years ago

Just wondering what folks are wintersowing this year. Here's what I'm thinking of wintersowing: petunias, larkspur, poppies, rudbeckia, delphiniums and snapdragons. Any other recommendations? I'm thinking of placing an order with Swallowtail sometimes this week - I thought they had free shipping at one point? - and was just looking for some suggestions on any favorites from you all.

Comments (17)

• pugetsoundgardener
    9 years ago

I've got daylilies and lavender in so far, and a pile of seeds as high as my head to get through. This is my first year though, so I'll have to wait to see what succeeds. :)

• ladyrose65
    9 years ago

I'm doing a lot of natives and vine flowers.

• daisydawnny
    9 years ago

I ordered a lot of new to me seeds this year. One way or another I am going to get prairie smoke and kiss me over the garden gate to grow.

• bellarosa
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I tried growing prairie smoke a few years ago and no luck. I'll have to try it again. I'd also like to grow more half-hardy annuals. Wintersowing is so addictive! :-)

• docmom_gw
    9 years ago

Bellarosa,
    Everything on your list should do very well with wintersowing.

Martha

• val (MA z6)
    9 years ago

I'm wintersowing for the first time this year and have quite the list of seeds I'll be sowing. Mostly perennials, but some annuals as well. I bought from Swallowtail; I placed orders with a few companies, as I kept finding more seeds I wanted. I think Swallowtail offered free shipping if you ordered $40, but they might have taken that off their site as it's "prime seed ordering time".