Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardentherapy_

ws foxglove in 2liter

gardentherapy.
9 years ago

I'm a newbie and have been ws in 2liter bottles. For most seeds I've been sowing 2 or 3 per bottle. But the foxglove seeds are soooooo tiny I've been finding it difficult to sow just a few to a bottle. I think I've been actually sowing around How do you veterans handle these teenie seeds? do you just thin them later? if so, at what point?

Comments (23)

• duane456
    9 years ago

I don't worry about how many are in a bottle. I plant them out in a HOS manner and let the strongest fight it out.

• southerngardening24
    9 years ago

Last year, which was my first year winter sowing, I separated all my foxglove seedlings. There were so many because the seeds are so small and maybe I should have used a bit of a lighter hand. This year, I plan on using the hunk of seedlings method. Separating all those seedlings was very time consuming.

• ladyrose65
    9 years ago

You usually get great germination on foxgloves, campanula's, balloon flowers. If you do have the extra container's I would spread them out so you won't be pressed to plant them in spring/summer/fall? I forgot about mine this summer and only 1 survived out of the container. I will be planting a lot them this season. I hope this helps.

• gardentherapy.
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks so much you guys! I think I'm going to go for the survival of the fittest. i'm worried i'll do more damage trying to separate them out. on a side note: my husband is enjoying this project: I had "banned" soda from the house a few years ago but those 2liter bottles are perfect so I turned a blind eye at thanksgiving to the soda. Well, those bottles went fast and I haven't nagged him about the fact that he sneak purchases coke/pepsi here and there ever since. he says he's doing it to help me out. oh sure!!!

• Michaela (Zone 5b - Iowa)
    9 years ago