Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jvdubb

WS Impatiens

jvdubb
11 years ago

This is my first year winter sowing. I should have started small but I don't know how to do that. This weekend I WSed 56 jugs (42 varieties) of perennials. I have TONS more to WS. I was planning to do more perennials very soon. Some annuals end of Feb and most end of March.

I really want to try Impatiens because last year in my area NONE of the nurseries had them due to the downy mildew epidemic. I bought the seeds already.

Has anyone in zone 5 or 6 actually had success WSing Impatiens? I'm thinking not to start them until end of March. Any other special care to take?

TIA,
Jennifer

Comments (11)

• molanic
    11 years ago

If you are talking about the common bedding impatiens...I did wintersow them once. I started them quite late like mid-April, because they do not need any chill and cannot take the cold. They did grow, but very slowly until it really heated up. If you want them to be like the store bought ones that you plant out around the last frost date that are already flowering and fill in quickly for instant gratification...you may be disappointed.

On the other hand at the end of the season when the store bought ones may be getting root bound and battered looking, the seed started ones will really outshine them. That may just be my experience though.

In general I have stopped wintersowing any of the warm season annuals for containers that are cheaply and readily available to buy. With the erratic spring weather here they are just easier to buy. I also just direct sow most of my warm season annuals that go into the ground after the last frost date: zinnias, sunflowers, marigolds, 4 o clocks, nasturtiums etc.

• jvdubb
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Molanic thank you for the reply. Yes I am talking about the common bedding impatiens. I would prefer to buy them but it is looking like they may not be available again commercially this year.