Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimmac619

WSing in the South?

jimmac619
11 years ago

I'm in the process of trying this process for the first time, and on a pretty big scale. (Newly retired, bitten badly by the gardening bug again now that I have the time to devote to it.

Anyway, it struck me that most of the info I had read on WSing came from points well north of SE Alabama. Any other Southern gardeners trying this? I'll love to hear about your mistakes before I make them. ;-)

Roll Tide!

Comments (26)

• caryltoo Z7/SE PA
    11 years ago

Good luck and welcome. No advice from this yankee since I have no experience with your climate. I'm sure some of the others who are near you will chime in soon.

Caryl

• growsy
    11 years ago

I'm new to this also. I started eagerly sowing away without realizing it might be too soon for some of the tender things. The weather was so warm that my beans sprouted quickly. One type zoomed right up & hit the top of the gallon vinegar jug it was planted in. So, I had to prepare a bed & plant out. Since then we've had some freezing nights & I had to cover the bed with plastic, but they seem to be doing fine. Things that I started when the weather was cooler haven't sprouted yet.

I've mostly used seed starting mix, because I got a good deal on last year's from Lowes. I only used potting mix for a few things.

• carrie630
    11 years ago

I have not been on this forum in a few years - started winter sowing in 2004 and have had wonderful, wonderful luck in North Carolina. I really don't worry about not having snow, if I were to do perennials, our cold nights have worked well with stratifying the seeds. I no longer do perennials, as my gardens are loaded with them (costing me nothing) and now I mainly do profusion zinnias and melampodiums for borders.