Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dsb22_gw

New here, with container soil question

dsb22
12 years ago

Hi, I'm new to winter sowing. Last year was my first year starting from seed, and I started everything under lights indoors. This year, I really want to get started but of course it's too early to start much indoors, so I started looking at my seed packs and reading the FAQs on here and realized I can probably ws a lot of them. I'm excited. :) The seeds I'm looking to ws are agastache, lavender, baby's breath, balloon flowers, penstemon, borage, lettuce and chives.

I don't have jugs or plastic containers but I have 20+ ceramic pots of all sizes on a somewhat sheltered, east-facing deck. Most of the pots still contain the soil mix I made last spring (1/3 MG, 1/3 pine bark fines, 1/3 soil perfecter similar in appearance to gravel). If I stir up the soil in each pot to make sure it's not compacted or filled with roots, can I ws in this mix? Or would it be better to start with new soil? Or keep the mix, but top with a soil specifically for seed-starting?

Deanna

Comments (8)

• donn_
    12 years ago

The mix sounds good, but it's a potting mix. I'd save it for that, and use a mix more suited to seed starting for your WS. My favorite for seed starting is SunGro Metro Mix 510, which is the same stuff I use as a base for my own potting mix.

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    12 years ago

Donn, a description of that product on the manufacturers website shows it to be a potting mix. "Metro-Mix 510 - Excellent for a wide variety of crops grown in mid to large containers. Especially suited for stock plants and container plants."

I never use a seed starting mix outdoors - too lightweight and no need for sterile outside. I use a good quality potting soil/mix, there are a few on the market depending on where you live.