Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zacharys

New to WS, have some questions!!

Hello to everyone! I hope you don;t mind me asking questions that have been asked probably dozens of times over, but, I have seached google and gardenweb voraciously for several days now and either I am slow (a genuine possibility, just ask my wife) or, I am just not getting the details...

I have never tried winter sowing before, and I have a walkway border that I want to put some flowers in.

While I can fairly consistently and successfully grow vegetables, I seem to be a pretty "brown thumb" when it comes to growing flowers from seed! Last year I used an entire packet of Flander's poppy seeds and I got one teeny tiny little plant with a single flower the size of my thumb nail. I tried direct sowing in early March and also tried to start a 6-cell pack indoors. Nothing came up, save that one, itty bitty plant.

So, I have been reading all these forums and checking out wintersowing.org and I think that I would like to give this a try for some flowers to fill that border, in hopes that I will have better results in a somewhat more controlled environment rather than just throwing seeds on the ground and hoping?

Would you say that my aspirations are too high? If I can't start annual poppies from seed direct sowing, then chances are my luck will be similar with winter sowing other flowers? I hope not, but maybe I am just destined to keep spending boo-coo dollars at the nursery in order to have something that is nice to look at.

So, heres my big dream: