Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cogardener2675

question on potting mix

cogardener2675
12 years ago

Is Miracal Gro CONTAINER potting mix OK to use? I got a big bag on sale in the summer -- and now I'm wondering if it's the right thing. This is my first attempt ot WS. Thanks

Comments (17)

• duane456
    12 years ago

yes, I use it all the time. I don't get the one with moisture control.
    Duane

• cogardener2675
    Original Author
    12 years ago

whew- I bought the right one! Thanks -- time to start potting!

• ladyrose65
    12 years ago

I got the moisture control this year. I had to buy perlite and vermiculate to get it under some control.

• cactusgarden
    12 years ago

I've used it before and it did OK but I like 'Stay Green' potting soil mix a lot better for texture. It also seems to be finer. Its got a slow release plant food in it in small round pellets. I mix a lot of vermiculite and some perlite into it. If its seeds that damp off easily I cover the surface with very fine gravel or sharp sand. For very fine seeds or seeds that take over a year to break dormancy, I use sterile seed starter mix.

Anyone else ever have damping off problems? I've been trying to germinate Feather Dalea for three years and only a very few ever germinate and then they damp off. I've done the WS plastic greenhouses and tried them in 4" pots uncovered and direct sowed in a protected marked spot with fine potting soil. I've tried indoors and out and just about every variation I can come up with.