Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
midwestguy33

Newbie....Need help!

midwestguy33
11 years ago

I am brand new to winter sowing (never knew what it was until today) so could use some advice. Just to provide some background info, I have been working with the great members in the Landscaping Design forum to design our front and backyard (I can post photos if anyone is interested). Last year we planted most of the trees and shrubs and this spring we want to concentrate on perennials, grasses and groundcover. After doing some research on winter sowing, I think it may be a economical way for us to plant large areas that are currently mulch. Here is a list of some of the perennials, groundcover and grasses we are interested in:

Hybrid or fancy Daylilies (Hemerocallis)
Siberian Iris
herbaceous Peonies
Hosta
Astilbe
Russian sage (Perovskia)
Goldenrod
Black-eyed Susan (Rudbeckia)
Pink or purple coneflower
Lenten Rose (Helleborus orientalis)
Purple Coneflower (Echinacea purpurea)
Perennial Salvia (Salvia nemorosa)
Liatris
Coreopsis
Pink or purple fountain grass (Pennisetum)
Miscanthus sinensis, 'Gracillimus' or 'Morning Light',
Miscanthus sinensis,'Strictus' or 'Zebrinus'
Euonymus fortunei 'Coloratus', aka wintercreeper.Virginia creeper
Japanese Painted Fern
Dianthus 'Firewitch'
Aujuga
Sedum sieboldii
'Magic Carpet' Thyme,
Sedum kamtschaticum

I'm not sure which of these can be winter sowed (I've started to do research but it's been difficult) and what is a good seed company to buy from. Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments (10)

• emcd124
    11 years ago

You'll have to be willing to do a bit of work on your own behalf, but if you go to the wintersown database for Zone 5, you can just look up all the plant names you propose and see whether they WS well in your zone:

http://web.archive.org/web/20110901154631/http://www.wintersown.org/wseo1/MiddleZones567.html

• jvdubb
    11 years ago

I can't help you on the winter sowing part as it is my first year trying it.