Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryseryse_2004

The secret is 4" of soil

ryseryse_2004
10 years ago

I have been doing this for many years and now realize the best success is with containers where you can have 4" of Pro-Mix or seed starter. Anything less is a problem because you have to constantly monitor the moisture in the container.

4" of soil is easy if you are using milk jugs. The salad containers allow for 4" of soil but aren't deep enough to allow for the seedlings to grow without removing the top. When you remove the tops, you have to worry about keeping them moist.

Just my thought here.

Comments (12)

• Poorbutroserich Susan Nashville
    10 years ago

Appreciate sharing your thought. I've been having the same thoughts here recently. Don't know what to do as I didn't start with jugs and now they are approaching the lids.
    Susan

• steff442
    10 years ago

I have always planted in at least 4" of soil as well. I remember seeing on Trudi's website the pictures of the crazy root systems that the WS seedlings ended up with.

I used various salad containers a few years ago, and remember the dilemma of having no space for seedlings to grow after I filled them with soil. My solution: I just used 2 salad containers and threw away their lids. I filled one container with soil, and duct taped the other on top. I ended up with a nice little greenhouse. I just made sure I didn't go crazy with the duct tape so that I could easily take the tops off when the time came.

Probably not the most original idea, but it worked for what I needed! :)

• gardenstateblossom (NJ 6b)
    10 years ago

How many inches of open space do you need in your container for the seedlings to grow?

thanks.

Purl

• docmom_gw
    10 years ago

Purl,