Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary_max

Sowing More than What you Need

mary_max
11 years ago

Do any of you sow a ton too many seeds. I just keep sowing and don't know where I will put this stuff. I always think what if something dies or tell myself its free since I collect the seeds from my garden. Cost only the potting soil which is starting to cost a lot more than it was a while back. :) Anyway do any of you sow then wonder what to do with all these babies. I hesitate to give away as most would never think these little babies could perform as well as they do.

Comments (6)

• jvdubb
    11 years ago

Well, this is my first year WSing. And I certainly sowed way more than I need. It will be interesting to see how it all turns out.

I have only been in this house for just over a year and have quite a bit of lawn. And I still have a little room in the existing beds. I have two new beds planned for this year.

Several people at work will be more than happy to take plants (they provided most of the jugs)and I have several neighbors that will also be happy to take some plants. I love to spread plant joy!

• ladyrose65
    11 years ago

This my 3rd season WSing, I always think about this. I say to myself,"Just sprinkle a little and give the rest away in trades". However, I end up over sprinkling end up giving out plants to neighbors and relatives. And if that doesn't work I randomnly plant in areas where the soil is so clay compacted they do not survive.

"Overindulgence", what can I say?

• terrene
    11 years ago

This is my 6th year winter-sowing, and yes indeed, I sow more seeds and have more seedlings than I can plant EVERY year. The first year it was really bad! I had tons of seedlings leftover that ended up over-wintering the first winter. To be honest I have some a couple vines - Aristolochia/Dutchman's Pipevine - that are still in 1 gallon pots from my first year! Don't know where to plant them, and they are still alive.