Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smokey28777

Sowed my first seeds today

smokey28777
9 years ago

This is my first time winter sowing. I sowed 12 milk jugs today. Hollyhocks, lupines, Painted daisies, money plant, Chinese lanterns, snapdragons, Angel trumpets, Poppies and more. Sowed them in miracle grow potting mix, watered them, taped jugs up and sat them outside (lids off).
Hoping I got this right. I have 30 more milk jugs to sow and lots of seeds to put in them. I used old mini blind strips as markers and wrote the plant names on them with a sharpie marker. I really wanted those milk jugs, fished them out of a dumpster at the recycle center (ha) I've got it bad!

Comments (15)

• plantmasterm
    9 years ago

Yes you do, but most of us do..42 jugs..happy planting

• ladyrose65
    9 years ago

Welcome newbie, you've got the Winter Sowing bug. Take pic's in the spring when they sprout.

• disneynut1977 ~ Melissa
    9 years ago

Once you see how much sprouts, you'll be hooked.
    After trying lavender indoors 2 years in a row, no luck, but the first year of wsing, all 3 varieties of lavender sprouted for me.
    Mother nature knows what she is doing.

• val (MA z6)
    9 years ago

Smokey,
    I'm a newbie doing wintersowing this year for the first time too! Isnt it great to find a forum where everyone is addicted to the same gardening habits!? I've not gone dumpster diving but have been saving containers for a while, and thinking of ways to get more! I went a little overboard on the seed-buying (and traded some too). I plan to start soon.

Did you put drainage holes in the bottom of your jugs?

I, too, would love to see photos when yours start to sprout!

Disney nut, GLAD to hear your lavendar sprouted outside/winter sowing. I bought Spanish lavendar to wintersow then read somewhere lavendars were difficult to start from seed.