Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary_max

Winter Sowing Annuals in Zone 5

mary_max
17 years ago

Just curious when you folks in zone 5 start to winter sow your annuals like zinnias, marigolds, petunias, the basic ones you see in stores like walmart, and the $ store. I hesitate to start them now as my perennials that are already sown are solid rock in their jugs. So wondering what you folks do in regards to this. As always thanks so much.

Comments (18)

• gardenluv
    17 years ago

This is my first year too, but I am not planning on starting my annuals until March and April. They don't need the cold, so I don't want to take any chances of losing them.

• webkat5
    17 years ago

I will be sowing in three rounds this year:

The first round (tomorrow) will be hardy perennials which require cold stratification (many that don't need it, too)

The second round will be in mid-third week of February which will be those perennials that don't require and extended period of cold strat, and some annuals that do need a short period...

The third round will be annuals and leftover perennials that don't benefit in the least from a cold strat period. I will put these out in mid-late March.

If you have annuals that would generally reseed themselves from one year to the next, you are safe to sow them now.

But if you want to break it up a bit....

Hope that helps!

• sheltieche
    17 years ago

you can also experiment-try sowing something now and leave some seeds for later- keep detailed record and see what works for you and your area.
    Since this winter came in late I am not sure if our summer is not going to be delayed too so I am not in the hurry- my annuals will go outside in March.

• lblack61
    17 years ago