Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dilwen

Wanted: vicious annual climber

dilwen
13 years ago

I need a huge climber needed to smother whatever that overgrown satellite-dish-looking-thing is in the side yard. Preferably, something I can get in the ground and well established by the end of May, because I will be absent from it all of June and probably most of July. I think I can get someone to water it, but I don't know what more. Its at some distance from the house so something colorful will be best. I'm guessing I'll need it to be at least 15 feet high. The seeds will probably come from Pinetree Seeds, (unless I go with morning glories)so I'm limiting myself to their selections.

Ignore my gardening zone. I moved to West Virginia at the end of last summer, and don't think I haven't updated since then. Actually, I haven't figured out my zone yet, but I'm in Preston County. I'm either 6 or 7.

Comments (6)

• steff442
    13 years ago

Well, I'm new to gardening, but here's my two cents:

I did some research on climbing vines because I wanted to see something pretty covering my fence, but didn't want the destructiveness of say, english ivy. After much consideration, I decided upon Morning Glory and Moonflower. Both entwine rather than damage, but both reseed agressively. If you aren't worried about reseeding, then I would try those. They really are beautiful, but you would have to keep them in check. Also, Sweet Pea might be a good candidate, but I think they are vigorous reseeders as well.

I looked at Nicotania (sp) as well. I think they are perennial though. Might take some time to establish. Not positive on this, however, because I stopped looking after the MG's and Moonflower.

Im sure the experts here would have more info for you, but I figured I should share what I have learned to sort of...give back, as it were.

Steff :)

• rosemctier
    13 years ago