Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ibheri

When do I take the tops off?

ibheri
12 years ago

Hello,

Some of my seeds have sprouted.When can I open the top half of the milk jugs? This is my first year, I want to make sure I am doing the right thing.

Thanks in advance.

Indu

Comments (10)

• trudi_d
    12 years ago

As long as the caps are off you don't need to remove the top. The shape of the milkjug spout acts as a flue and it rapidly vents away heated air.

• Homeblessings
    12 years ago

I don't have an answer but I'm confused by this as well. I keep reading about new plants being burned on days that are too warm and that the lids do need to be taken off. I'm also wondering if the plants get enough sunlight through the thick walls of the milk jugs.

• melvalena
    12 years ago

Indu,
    Because I know where you live and how warm it is there, I'd say if your sprouts are full sun plants and have 2 sets of leaves its safe to open up the tops on nice days. Just be sure to watch them as they'll dry out in no time. Until they're stronger (older) you might want to keep the mid day sun off them for a while. You are going to be planting out in a matter of a few weeks from now. :)

If they've grown so much that they're smashed up against the tops I'd say its past time to open them up. :)

If freezing (or frost) is expected close them back up if the sprouts still fit inside the tops and they are frost tender plants.

If you're expecting really heavy rain I'd close them back up to keep them from getting flooded. (do not put the lids on milk jugs or bottles--built up heat needs to escape and small amounts of rain getting inside won't hurt them)

Homeblessings, they should get plenty of light through the containers. I don't take lids off my containers until I see at least 2 sets of leaves or its really quite warm. But where I live it warms up early and quickly.