Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyelizcrawford

Introductions and whatnot!

Amy
12 years ago

Hello All!

I've been reading and reading this forum, what a wealth of information, and what a wonderful group of wise gardeners!

I'm a newbie from Southeast PA zone 7a (was 6b!)- bought my first house 2 years ago and spent all last summer in gardening heaven! I spent every spare minute I had outdoors, building raised beds, weeding, digging, planting, etc.

So this year is my first year Winter Sowing! I am so psyched. My sister works at Starbucks and has been funneling me lots of milk jugs. I have a rather hefty stack O' seeds.

I haven't sown anything yet, this insanely warm weather has made me nervous, I'm afraid that we are going to get some terrible cold snap/blizzard in late March that will destroy everything, so I'm taking it slow. I will probably be sowing most of my seeds this week.

Here's my seed list so far. Nothing super-special, as I want to stick to tried-and-trues before venturing into rare heirlooms:

Veg/Herbs:

Basil blend

Zucchini - black beauty

Yellow Squash - early prolific straightneck

Arugula

Chamomile - German

Spinach - Bloomsdale

Tomato - Red cherry and and yellow pear blend

Tomato - Pink Brandywine

Asparagus Bean - Longyard

Also looking for a high-climbing pole bean, any suggestions?

Will be adding some more lettuces, and a large assortment of herbs to this list

Ornamentals:

Penstemon - Rocky Mountain Blue

Goldenrod - Summer Showers

Black Eyed Susan Vine - I'm going to WS half and DS half and see how they do

Delphinium - Pacific Giant

Cosmos - Sea Shells Blend

Cosmos - Sensations Blend

Morning Glory mix - same as above, WS half and DS half

Sweet Pea - Wedding blush

Want to add some coneflowers.