Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cuppie_gw

Veggies and herbs to plant now

cuppie
12 years ago

Hi Everyone! I am a newbie and am excited to find such a helpful and enthusiastic forum. I am helping to kick-start our elementary school garden by winter sowing and will be helping several classrooms plant in their containers this week! Having never winter-sown before, I am hoping that members might have some advice for vegetables and herbs to sow now. We are in zone 5b and are using mostly milk gallons and 2 liter soda bottles. Any additional advice, such as brand of soil, how many seeds per container, would also be most appreciated. We are hoping to either raise funds with our extra seedlings or donate them.

Comments (5)

• gardenunusual2
    12 years ago

Awesome!

I am in zone 5b as well, my recommendation would be and others please chime in, would be to do any cole crops now and perennial herbs.

Cole crops like broccoli, kale, collards, cabbage, beets, swiss chard, spinach,onions, anything that likes cool weather to start. Tomatoes do surprisingly well with this method, I had some I sowed in December and March. The March ones sprouted a month earlier for me. Just when I thought the December ones didn't I discovered a new sprout. My tomato plants were small when planted, but quickly caught up during the summer. They plants were still fruiting into the fall. I pulled them when the first signs of frost came, but probably could have kept going.

Perennial herbs like sage, thyme, oregano, marjoram, chives can be started now. The warmer weather ones like basil could be started later. Last year I sowed them late in containers, I think it was May and they did well - the spring we had was cold so I didn't worry too much.

Experiment and have fun with it, and document what you can.

• LilBlossom
    12 years ago

I second what Gardenunusual2 says: Any cold weather crops as well as perennials are fine to sow now. Possibly hardy annuals like pansies.