Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pugetsoundgardener

Um, I have sprouts? Now what?

As a newbie, I'm not sure whether to be excited or worried. I checked this morning, and my onions, day lilies, and lavender have sprouted. I wouldn't be as worried if the onions and day lilies weren't in the first containers I sowed, which were spinach containers with very little headroom. It never occurred to me they'd sprout this soon. Our last frost date isn't for quite a while.

So...

1) Should I take off the lid of the sprouted containers and give them some sort of plastic bag topper that has more headroom?

2) Is it too soon to start widening the holes in the tops? It's barely February.

3) Should I plant these guys out into separate covered pots and let them grow in those until they're a bit bigger? I just got a load of used pots in. The sprouts are so tiny, i'm worried they'll get lost in the garden, trampled by my crazy pup, or eaten by something.

At least I can stop worrying that they won't sprout! I've traded seeds with a few people who said winter sowing didn't work for them, and they were making me paranoid...

The lavender is in the double tall container and should be fine. The day lilies and onions are in short containers. They have maybe 1" of headroom.

Comments (6)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    9 years ago

If you had just a little more headroom, I'd say don't worry and you could just toss an old table cloth over the containers if we should get a freeze like last February. (somehow I think we won't, but you never know).

Without the headroom, if you do have to open and see its predicted to get cold, you may have lost the no-fuss aspect of winter sowing. What I do in that case is move them into my garage overnight - garden shed or carport works too. Just someplace that gives them a few degrees of protection. I had a box of meconopsis spend a couple of night in the back of my SUV a few years ago ;)