Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arylkin

milk jugs- drilling holes, what size and how many?

arylkin
10 years ago

This is my first year winter sowing (yay!), and I've accumulating milk jugs and am about to prepare my first round. I've been reading a lot about the importance of drainage, but haven't been able to find EXACT instructions.

If you use a drill the bottoms of your milk jugs, can you tell me what size drill bit you use and how many you do?

Sorry if this question seems a little ridiculous, I just want to give my precious seeds their best chance!

Thanks in advance!!

Comments (13)

• duane456
    10 years ago

I'd say 6-8 holes at 1/8 to 1/4 inch drill bit. Drill at the very bottom in the side. But that's just me. Maybe someone else would like to chime in.

• ellenrr
    10 years ago

I use a small soldering iron that is perfect. It makes holes about 1/4 to 1/2 inch diameter. In the bottom of the one gallon jug, I make about 6. I put mine at the bottom not the side, but I don't suppose it makes a difference, long as they drain.

And you can always add more holes if necessary, or cover up some if you feel you made too many.

• ryseryse_2004
    10 years ago

I also use a soldering iron and find it faster and easier than drilling. I put about 8 holes in the bottom and another eight in the sides about 1" up from bottom. Have done it this way for many years and it seems to be the correct amount. My jugs don't start drying out until everything is up and growing nicely and I have cut the filling flap off about a month before transplanting.

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    10 years ago