Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
herbal_gw

Need flower bed design help- PLEASE...

herbal
12 years ago

This is my first time wintersowing, and I expect I will end up like many I have read about here, 50 containers of seedlings. Well I love all of these flowers individually, but I need advice and suggestions on how to coordinate these babies in my yard. I'll list my seeds, some I will wintersow, and others spring sow.

Sw. William 18"

Chinese purple bell vine

Columbine 30-36"

Canterbury Bells 2-3 ft

Black eyed susan 1-3ft

Delphinium 2-3ft

Gaillardia

Hollyhock pink single, black watchman,

peaches & dreams 4-6ft

Ox eye daisy1-3ft

Purple coneflower 2-3ft

Cosmos sea shells mix 3-5ft

Sunflower sun gold 4-5ft

Sunflower velvet queen 5-6ft

Sunflower sunspot dwarf 2ft

Sunflower autumn beauty 5-6ft

Borage

4 o clocks 2ft

Cosmos bright lights 3ft

Zinnia California giant white 3ft

Zinnia California giant pink 3ft

Zinnia Thumbelina mixed 6"

Zinnia Pinwheel mix 1ft

Dusty miller 18"-24"

Cosmos daydream 3ft

Bachelors button mix 2ft

Marigold brocade mix 12-14"

Sweet pea knee-hi mix 24-30"

Statice sinuate mix 2ft

Calendula 18-24"

Calendula pacific beauty mix 18"

Carnation chabauds mix 2ft

Alyssum royal carpet 4"

Pansy jollyjoker 6-9"

Pinks double gaiety 12"

Poppy Shirley double 18"

Red poppy under 2ft

Purple peony poppy 3ft

German chamomile 24-30"

Cleome rose queen 3-4"

Forget me not 15"

Larkspur 24- 30"

Portulaca 6"

Mexican sunflower 3-4ft

Nemesia paintbox 9-12"

Stock finest ten weeks dwarf 1ft

Yarrow white, terracotta, love parade, cloth of gold, gold dust,

Lovage

Babys breath 18"

Snap dragon 6"

Aster powderpuff mix 2ft

Morning glory heavenly blue

I would value all suggestions of what goes with what. Also, how many of each variety to put together. Like delphinium, should I have at least 5 planted in a single spot, and should I keep to 12" spacing as suggested on the seed bag?

Thanks

Comments (8)

• duane456
    12 years ago