Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyrose65

Sprouts in colder zone/possible variables.new?

ladyrose65
13 years ago

I see some colder zones have sprouts and some not.

I was checking my own containers. I was thinking these are the possible variables in my case:

1. 1 week of warm weather.

2. Property used to be swamp land/it colder than property on higher plains. (i.e., location)

3. I sowed deeply, newbie mistake. It's going to take longer.

4. Soil is quite compact, too much water pressure, despite adding more peat & vermiculate. Bottom watering next year.

This clinched my newbie anxiety.

For you Professional's, chime in for those who see a zone 5 or 4'er sprout up!

Just food for thought.

Comments (8)

• indiana_matt
    13 years ago

Well , I am also a newbie, and am having some sprouting in zone 5. Even though I have planted lots of seeds in the past, I am new at winter sowing. I have hollyhocks that have sprouted; I soaked my containers, let them drain, roughed up the surface, sprinkled in my seeds, sprinkled a think layer of soil on top, and tamped down lightly with my knuckles. Smaller seeds like poppies I just sprinkled over the wet, tamped soil. I looked at my poppies today, and it looks like the seed coats have split. I am expecting to see some poppy sprouts any day now.

We had extremely warm temps last week and lots of sun. I have my containers in full sun, so they all got nice and toasty for a few days. I live in a fairly flat part of Indiana, out in the country. No swamps around.

I find that a spray bottle works well for watering my bottle containers. Just spray into the opening with a fine mist. The mist covers the entire soil surface without disturbing the seeds.

I am putting my trust in the confidence of all the veteran winter sowers by not worrying about my new sprouts. If they die they die, but everyone says they will be fine. So, I guess they will be fine. We'll see.

• PVick
    13 years ago