Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nugrdnnut

Sprout report!

nugrdnnut
10 years ago

Zone 6 a... have had weather in the low to mid 50s (and lows in the high 20s-low30s) for a week now. I peaked in my containers and starting to see some sprouts!
This is my first year winter sowing and I have to say I am pretty excited.

Comments (15)

• ellenr22 - NJ - Zone 6b/7a
    10 years ago

that's wonderful!
    just be careful, don't know what you've planted-
    temps here in NJ are forecast down to 12- so if yours are going down that low, make sure they can tolerate that temp. If you're not sure, throw something over them. Fortunately it should only be for one night.

what are they?

• nugrdnnut
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'm watching the forecast closely and will place a heavy blanket over them if needed. I've sowed a variety of brassicas, tomatoes, flowers and others types of seed.

Broccoli are the first to sprout!

Additionally, I am just seeing garlic to sprout up through the soil!

• terrene
    10 years ago

Lucky you! Congrats on your sprouts.

I usually get sprouts about this time of year, the very early sprouters like Lupine. But, I just started sowing this past week and spring is WAY behind this year, so even if I had started earlier, it has been too cold and there has been way too much snow to get sprouts yet.

The snowdrops aren't even blooming yet!

• vegpatch
    10 years ago

I had to follow-up....this is my first time winter sowing and I have sprouts.... my Bok Choy of all things is the first to pop up about 1 inch no true leaves yet though.

• caryltoo Z7/SE PA
    10 years ago

Congrats on your sprouts and as others said just watch the nighttime forecasts for frost and throw a blanket over the containers as needed.