Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fixerupperinnh

Unsolicited Advice from Strangers- is it just me?

fixerupperinnh
12 years ago

I was in the grocery store and they had a rack of seeds out, so I stopped to take a look just to see if they had anythin g different. This woman walks behind me and says, "Be sure to wait until Mother's Day!" It took me a moment to realize what she meant. I told her I was winter sowing. She looked at me like I had said I was from outer space.

This isn't the first time. I've had several people who seemed to think I was totally clueless just because I shop for seeds early. Same with potting soil. I don't get that. People do still have house plants. Even though this is my first year WS, I've always bought seeds early to make sure I get what I want. Anyone else find strangers suddenly "helpful" during the WS season?

Comments (31)

• docmom_gw
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I think it's just shared excitement about gardening. Those helpful people are just so happy to see some one who might share their enthusiasm about growing things, rather than thinking they're crazy, that they want to communicate in any way they can. They want to help you, if you are new to gardening. They know you don't have to take their advice. You could even thank them for the suggestion, but explain that you like to shop early or even take time to explain wintersowing to them. I've struck up many a friendly conversation in the grocery aisle with just such an innocuous comment. And if you're in a hurry, just smile and say thank-you and ignore the advice. Then everybody's happy.

Martha

• bookjunky4life
    12 years ago