Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
potterhead2

Lows in the teens - what to do?

potterhead2
13 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new at wintersowing, I did a small successful try last year so this year I'm doing a lot more of my seeds this way.

I have a small coldframe which is housing my flats of seeds outside. I have a heating cable buried a couple of inches down, which I turned on a couple of weeks ago after the seeds started sprouting. It doesn't really heat the flats, just keeps the ground from freezing. The ground is still quite cold to the touch.

I have lots of sprouts (YAY!!! Happy Dance!). Mostly cool weather vegetables; lettuces, arugula, spinach, and pak choi. However, the marigolds have also sprouted.

Problem: It's going to get really cold for the next few days (lows will be in the teens overnight for the next 5 days). I'm pretty sure the vegetables will be okay, but I'm worried about the marigolds. Will they be okay out there? Should I take them inside?

What would you do?

Comments (4)

• ellenrr
    13 years ago

Are your plants in the ground or in containers?
    What you're doing is not, strictly speaking, winter-sowing, since we put them out with no heat or protection beyond the covering over the container.
    I'm sure your vegies will be fine, my arugala and lettuce have been out under the last 2 days of snow and temps in the low '30's.
    Not sure about the marigolds.

• potterhead2
    Original Author
    13 years ago