Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaggudada

Ideal location for milk jugs?

jaggudada
10 years ago

What would be ideal location for milk jugs till you transplant? Do you change locations as weather warms up, assuming plants go in garden sometime Mid May or towards end of may?

Do you avoid afternoon sun? PLease give me skinny on where you set them and whether you would want them to have morning sun, evening sun, avoid afternoon sun etc.

Comments (7)

• bugdoctor
    10 years ago

I too am curious about the number of sunlight hours to expose the containers and the aspect?
    I put them all on the northeast side of my house, but thought they needed a little more sun to warm, so I moved them all to a south east side. We have a neighbors house blocking most morning sun in their northeast side. They get morning sun til 1 or 2 and shade thereafter in their new spot. But don't follow my lead, I'm a newbie and really have no clue if this is the optimal sun vs. overheating. I just did what seemed 'right'.

Others have suggested east facing will prevent afternoon heat up, but may delay sprouting by a week or more. While others have said put them in their 'locations' to be planted...if they're full sun plants, put the containers in full sun, etc.

Thanks for posing the question.

• caryltoo Z7/SE PA
    10 years ago

I've been doing this for a long time and have never worried about where the jugs are. For me, they go on the patio which faces sort of west. I'm not sure afternoon sun matters at this time year -- it's still mostly overcast here and the sun isn't that high yet. You probably don't have to worry much about your seedlings until the weather really starts to get warm/hot. Then I'd maybe move shade lovers to the shade. I think the biggest thing is making sure they don't dry out.