Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ldsluder

HELP! Watering during the day?

ldsluder
13 years ago

When I water my veggies, I only do it at night or in the morning, not in the heat of the due in the direct sunlight. I know very little about flowers - but when I drive around town, it seems they get watered whenever....

My containers were fine this morning, but I just went and checked and they are dry - nothing is wilting yet... but some are close to bone dry - can I water during the day when it's hot and sunny? If so, can I water from the top, say with the mister on the hose (most are open) or should I still put each container in water and let it soak up? Thanks... I so don't want to lose any precious greenery!!!

Comments (10)

• ladyrose65
    13 years ago

If you water in the morning, you should be good. What are your average temps. We got up to 84F. Some of my Lupines got fried. I'm a newbie, you might have to move them to a more shadier location.

• ldsluder
    Original Author
    13 years ago

yea, I knew it was going to be hot today - 84 here too, shocked at how much they drank and dried up today. Thanks, one more super hot day then some more spring like weather! Fun stuff!

• kqcrna
    13 years ago

Or, if you have lot of containers, give them shade somehow. Can be done with shade cloth, strategic placement of lawn chairs over them, upside down laundry baskets, etc.

Karen

• mnwsgal
    13 years ago

I water my containers of seedlings during the day without any problems. My mist setting was too fine and took too long so I use a light shower setting.

• countrycarolyn
    13 years ago